Snickerdoodle Cookies

Hi, my name is Tania and you can find me on my blog – Fantasy Tales. A big thanks to Ioan and Flora for inviting me to be a guest recipe author on their blog. I’m a writer and am currently polishing my urban fantasy novel titled ‘Cloaked In Fur’, but today I want to share with you one of my favorite cookie recipes.
They are called snickerdoodles.
The first time I ate a snickerdoodle was in Seattle as I lined up for PAX (a computer gaming convention) with my hubby. These wonderful girls were selling cookies for charity, and after two hours in the python queue, I jumped for the delicious cinnamon cookie. Ever since then, I’ve been tantilizing my friends and family with them, especially since they are beyond easy to make.
So, I’m sharing with you the version I use, and while they are very much on the indulgent side, they are so difficult to resist. Plus, they fill your home with the sweetest smell ever.


a

Ingredients
–          1 ½ cups caster (superfine) sugar
–          1 cup unsalted butter (227grams)
–          2 large eggs
–          1 teaspoon vanilla extract
–          2 ¾ cups of plain flour
–          2 teaspoons baking powder
–          ½ teaspoon salt
Coating:
–          1/3 cup caster (superfine) sugar
–          2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
Method
1. Beat sugar and butter until smooth
2. Add eggs, one at a time, as beating
3. Beat in the vanilla extract
4. Add flour, baking powder and salt into wet mixture, until smooth

5. If dough is too soft to roll into a ball, cover and refrigerate for at least 15 minutes or until firm enough to roll into a ball
6. Oven should be at 190 degrees Celsius (374 F), with fan
7. Mix the caster sugar and ground cinnamon (from the coating ingredients) in a bowl.
8. Shape the dough into round balls. Roll the balls of dough in the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Place the coated balls on a tray lined with non-stick cooking paper, ensuring there is enough space between the balls, as they grow quite a bit.

9. Once the oven is hot, bake the balls for 12-15 minutes, or until gold at the edges. When first pulled out they will be very soft to the touch, this is fine, since they harden when left to stand for about 10 minutes.

Enjoy.

2 gânduri despre „Snickerdoodle Cookies

Lasă un răspuns

